About the Office

Voorhees Mall on College Avenue Campus at Rutgers-New Brunswick

Distinguished Professor Francine Conway is the Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs at Rutgers University–New Brunswick. In this role, she serves as the chief academic officer of Rutgers–New Brunswick and is responsible for guiding the academic enterprise of Rutgers. This includes promoting experiential learning, academic support, and research initiatives for students, and attracting, retaining, and supporting top faculty at all career stages and fostering a diverse and collaborative culture of ideation and inquiry where research can flourish.

To achieve this, the Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs works closely with the Office of the Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs, faculty members, deans, and department chairs of the academic enterprise, and faculty development across the university. The Provost reports to the Chancellor of Rutgers University–New Brunswick Christopher Molloy.

A Commitment to Diversity, Inclusion, and Community Engagement


In addition to classroom, field, and online learning, the delivery of education to Rutgers undergraduates includes study abroad options in more than 50 countries, student chapters of professional organizations, honors programs, academic support and advising, internships, co-ops, and fellowships.

Our faculty are leading researchers in their fields, and the work they do in hundreds of centers, faculty practices, clinics, institutes, and laboratories leads to new knowledge with significant impact. Graduate students at Rutgers join faculty in their pursuits as they also discover their own research callings.

Rutgers–New Brunswick with the closely aligned Rutgers Biomedical and Health Sciences

  • 4,000+ full- and part-time faculty
  • 36,000+ undergraduates
  • 14,000 graduate and professional students
  • 19 libraries
  • 17 degree-granting schools and colleges
  • 100+ undergraduate majors
  • 220+ graduate programs

Schools and Colleges

The Rutgers–New Brunswick Provost oversees operations of the major center and institutes reporting to the chancellor and the nondegree-granting Douglass Residential College and Honors College, and assists the chancellor of Rutgers–New Brunswick with coordinated support of 12 degree-granting schools.

The schools set academic standards, provide advising and other academic support, and serve as their students’ academic “family” within the larger university community.

Edward J. Bloustein School of Planning and Public Policy

Graduate School of Applied and Professional Psychology

Graduate School of Education

Mason Gross School of the Arts

Rutgers Business School–Newark and New Brunswick

School of Arts and Sciences

School of Communication and Information

School of Engineering

School of Environmental and Biological Sciences

School of Graduate Studies

School of Management and Labor Relations

School of Social Work