Marshall Scholarships

The Marshall Scholarships were established by the British government in 1953 to express British gratitude for the European Recovery Program, instituted by General George C. Marshall in 1947 when he served as US Secretary of State. The program aims to strengthen the enduring relationship between the British and American peoples and their governments.

Up to forty Scholars are selected each year to study at the graduate level at a UK institution in any field of study. Approximately five scholarships are awarded in each of the eight regions into which the US is divided. The scholarship is for either one or two years, and pays for all university tuition and fees, travel to and from the UK, and living expenses.


  • Candidates must be US citizens.
  • Candidates must have a cumulative GPA of 3.7 or higher.
  • Candidates must have graduated from their undergraduate university after April 2009.


Applications are submitted online and require:

  • Statement describing academic and other interests and pursuits
  • Outline of proposed studies in the UK
  • Four letters of recommendation.  The first of these should be designated the Preferred Recommender and this recommender should have supervised your college or university training. At least two recommendations must be provided by academics. At least three of these recommenders should be in the United States.
  • Letter of institutional endorsement
  • Official college transcripts (1 original and 5 copies)

Candidates are evaluated on the following criteria:

  • Intellectual distinction
  • Adequate preparation in the proposed course of study
  • Communication skills and leadership potential

A strong application is one that demonstrates that the choice of institution has been carefully considered and justification given on why that particular place is the best for that course. Preference will be given to candidates who combine high academic ability with the capacity to play an active part in the life of the UK university they attend, and to those who display a potential to make a significant contribution to their own society.


Applications require an institutional endorsement; materials are due to the Office of Distinguished Fellowships by September 10, 2018. Final application materials are due to Marshall online by October 1, 2018. (Transcripts must be mailed to arrive at the regional center by that date and marked with ID code provided.) Applications will be received and reviewed at eight regional centers in the United States. Shortlisted candidates will be contacted for interviews in early November. The final selection will be announced shortly after the interviews.


Arthur D. Casciato, Ph.D.
Director, Office of Distinguished Fellowships
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey